Poems · Uncategorized

Rain in the city/Pluie dans la ville

553889_346117498795828_1938603073_n raining-in-city-animated-wallpaper

Hey everybody!

It has been raining in my city and the weather is as good as it can be. But it isn’t always so. Rain surprised me today. So here is a poem it inspired me to write. It is in French as well as English.

I would daily ask the rain to come again
And in my heart hold a campaign
Because the rain wouldn’t really come
Making me feel very sad and glum
Then one day when I was expecting it the least
I was unknowingly taken in for a surprise feast
Maybe the rain-God had felt pity for me
When in my verandah I was drinking tea
Suddenly the wind picked up
And the sky darkened like a wolf pup
I felt the pitter-patter of the rain drops
Making my heart go pop
I took a deep breath to celebrate
The wet earth’s fragrance in my fate
While the children in the rain started to plod
In my heart I thanked the rain-God

Je voudrais demander à tous les jours que la pluie vienne à nouveau
Et dans mon coeur organiser une campagne
Parce que la pluie ne viendrait pas vraiment
Je me suis senti très triste et morose
Puis, un jour où je m’y attendais le moins
J’ai été pris sans le savoir dans une fête surprise
Peut-être que la pluie Dieu avait eu pitié de moi
Quand dans ma véranda, je buvais du thé
Soudain, le vent s’est levé
Et le ciel s’assombrit comme un louveteau
J’ai senti le crépitement des gouttes de pluie
Faire mon coeur aller pop
Je pris une profonde inspiration pour célébrer
Le parfum de la terre humide dans mon destin
Alors que les enfants de la pluie a commencé à avancer péniblement
Dans mon cœur, je remercie le dieu de la pluie

Leave a Reply

