Poems

Rain In The City

I would daily ask the rain to come again,

And in my heart hold a campaign.

Because the rain wouldn’t really come,

Leaving me all sad and glum.

One day when I was expecting it the least,

I was in for an astonishing feast.

The rain-God maybe felt pity for me,

When in my verandah I was drinking some tea.

Suddenly the wind picked up,

And the sky darkened like a wolf’s pup.

The heavens then started pouring,

And my spirit was sent soaring.

In my heart I thanked the rain-God,

While kids in the rain started to plod.

I took a deep breath to celebrate.

The wet earth’s fragrance in my fate.

Leave a Reply

