Uncategorized

Till I put on the mask

Often we hear these words, “be you.” However, for many, being themselves might not be as fun. Why? Because they don’t have anyone to share their time with, no one cares about them. However, when you behave as others do irrespective of whether you like it, people get interested. Read on…

Just sitting there, empty, with hours to fill,

I found a void that I couldn’t fill.

No one to talk to, no one that cared,

That no one knew me was the fear.

Then I came across an abandoned box,

Packaged so as to make it last.

It had little trinkets and some art,

However a mask really stood apart.

I picked it up and shoved off the dust,

Onto my face, the mask I thrust.

Got out on the street, went my way,

People noticed me and I saw them sway.

A sudden interest they found in me,

Whispering amongst them, “who is she?”

I found it strange, this sudden interest,

But was interesting, this little tryst.

Now I didn’t have the heart to take off the casque,

Coz no one cared who I was till I put on the mask.

Leave a Reply

